Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Firewood

Old 05-25-2022, 10:36 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Firewood

Hi everyone. I’m new to Yurt life. We bought a 22’ Yurt from

Groovy Yurts

that will be delivered to the Kootney Region of BC this summer. I want to make sure I have enough firewood for the winter. I’ve got a used Pacific Super 27 that I’ll be using. Can anyone share how many cords of wood they think I may need to stock. Snow is usually November -March. Mountain town so likely

heating

from Sept/October- May

Thanks for your feedback

JenElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 01:08 AM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Firewood

Surely not directly helpful, but the joke below slept into my brain after reading your lines:

It was autumn, and the Indians on the remote reservation asked their new Chief if the winter was going to be cold or mild. Since he was an Indian Chief in a modern society, he had never been taught the old secrets.

When he looked at the sky, he couldn't tell what the weather was going to be. Nevertheless, to be on the safe side, he replied to his tribe that the winter was indeed going to be cold and that the members of the village should collect firewood to be prepared.

Also, being a practical leader, after several days he got an idea. He went to the phone booth, called the National Weather Service and asked, "Is the coming winter going to be cold?"

"It looks like this winter is going to be quite cold indeed," the meteorologist at the weather service responded. So the Chief went back to his people and told them to collect even more wood in order to be prepared.

A week later, he called the National Weather Service again. "Is it going to be a very cold winter?"