Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

New Adventure

Old 09-20-2014, 01:49 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default New Adventure

Hi - I'm a newbie
I have recently bought one 10' and one 16' yurt for my Son and I to live in. Scary thing is they're due to be delivered very soon and I've procrastinated on putting down the floor. Mainly because I don't know where to start. I'm exploring the options of earth bags, with plywood over the top, this seems like a reasonably priced option, and a useful form of

insulation

Has anyone done this before any fors/against.
I'm very new to 'yurting'.

Maid marion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 05:47 AM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: New Adventure

Welcome to the forum you came to the right place for yurt info.
Marshall Eppley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 10:35 AM   #3
Yurt Forum Addict

Hi Maid Marion. Procrastinate no longer. It's time to make a plan and get after it.

You don't need earth bags or any fancy floor if you need to get the yurts up pronto.

Buy two HD cheap poly tarps at WalMart, Home Depot, Harbor Freight or Lowes. Buy the tarps a MINIMUM of two foot larger than the diameter of your yurt.

The yurts will sit atop the tarp. The tarp edge folds up at the wall under the cover, making a tub so water stays out.

Clear and flatten the site. Lay out the tarp. Erect the yurt on top of the tarp. Fold the edge of the tarp up the OUTSIDE of the wall, and tuck it under the lower ropes that snug the yurt. Trim the tarp to the height you want. The yurt cover drapes OVER the tarp.