Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Everything Else
Advanced Search

A Yurt On Someone Else's Property... (Advice For Potential Yurt Owner)

Old 07-23-2014, 06:02 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default A yurt on someone else's property... (Advice for potential yurt owner)

Hello, I'm Ben. I'm new to the forum.

A little background:

My girlfriend, Emily, and I have been renting in different parts of the USA since 2008. Over that time we've paid approximately $60,000 to landlords. We're ready to get out of the rental market but don't have even remotely enough money (or credit) to buy a house/land. We love the idea of a "portable" home that will allow us to build equity and savings without having to commit to one place. We've always dreamed of living in a Yurt!

The plan:

Currently, we have just enough money saved up to buy (and outfit) a 20' yurt! Our idea is to buy the yurt and find a friendly land owner (hear in Eagle County, CO) who wouldn't mind a Yurt on his or her property. I'm pretty handy (worked construction for a year) and am really excited to tinker. We'll stay here in CO for the next six months and after that will move ourselves (and our Yurt) to Emily's parents' land in MA. After a maximum of two years there (we will be running a yoga studio), we plan on once again moving ourselves (and our yurt) back to the rocky mountains somewhere where we will take up permanent residence. (And hopefully run our OWN Yoga studio!)