Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Living
Advanced Search

Making It Happen!

Old 07-27-2013, 05:11 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Making it Happen!

Hi everyone. I am new here. I've been contemplating yurt living for about 4 years now. I've gone through the dream stage, the fear stage, and now I'm in the realistic stage.

All of the things in my life that I'm trying to align lead me toward a yurt life. Being in touch with nature, and in tune with the seasons, leaving a lower impact on the earth during my stay, being closer to my children and creating memories and bonds that aren't related to buying "things" and watching TV, and of course not being a debt slave.

I was raised in a rural small town, and moved to the big city at 22, and have been here for over ten years. I'm ready to go now. The city has brought opportunities, but those opportunities have led to anxiety, depression, claustrophobia, and debt. The life I've led in the city has been a dark and desperate feeling one. I need to see the earth without a cement coating on it. I need to breathe air that doesn't smell like car exhaust and deep fryers. I want to hear birds, and see the sun go down behind mountains and trees, now power lines and jutting rectangles.

I'm in my mid 30's, and life has taken some sudden turns the last few years. I now realize that waiting around for things to happen means they never will.

Now, for the details and questions-

I have access to property that already has a permanent residence on it. I would need to tap into the well/septic/electric. Only one person lives on this land and it will stay that way, so the burden of the system will increase to a maximum of maybe 4-5 people total, my knowledge of the current systems in place are that it can handle this because it did in the past before it came to be owned by my mom.

I have been looking at the 30ft yurt from

Pacific Yurts