Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Powering the Yurt
Advanced Search

Having Battery Issues-Help, Please!

Old 06-05-2021, 02:25 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Having battery issues-Help, please!

I’ve been using a ‘Portable Solar Generator for about 4 years now. I burnt through a couple AGM batteries thanks to my lack of knowledge, and upgraded to lithium phosphate this winter.

Now that I’ve learned more about solar, I am less than impressed with the setup I bought. But hindsight is 20/20.

It’s got a 24v inverter, so I have 2-100ah batteries wired in series (which I know is not advisable). Since switching to liFe, I have been overcharging, which causes the inverter to shut down.

The maker of the kit has the battery wires from the charge controller wires right to the lugs on the inverter, which I suspect is contributing to the erratic voltage on the top end of my charge, since voltage is going into the inverter and batteries rather than directly to batteries?

My questions are:
- Am I right in thinking that charge controller directly to batteries is the correct setup?

-Can I hook the charge controller wires to the + on one (series wired) battery and the - on the other?
Would this work temporarily until I can get components to do it right?

-Would a dual battery charge controller work with my series wired batteries?

WIyurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2021, 04:44 PM   #2
Administrator

Default Re: Having battery issues-Help, please!

Yeah you have a lot going on here. First, there is no problem wiring them in series to 24v and in fact it IS advisable to raise your voltage as much as you can afford. Higher voltage requires smaller wires and they don't heat up as much, ergo it is safer. You're good to go there and I wouldn't worry about that.