Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Yurt Designs

Old 03-19-2022, 07:00 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Yurt Designs

Hi there I'm new to the forums as I am new to the whole prospect of yurts.

I am looking at attempting to build one from scratch for a portable vending space for festivals but I am getting hung up on a few things as I continue my progress forward. If there are some good resources for figuring out dimensions of lumber and estimated needed rafters that would be nice to be pointed towards. Most of my, well, guesstimates are coming from references of smaller sized yurts. My big deal with the design is I semi want it to be modular in its ability to adjust to the situation of different allotted sized lots. so my max sized I'm thinking of building is potentially a 40ft(Diameter) yurt but I also want to be able to have size adjustments for 30ft and 20ft.

At this point in my thinking I was theorizing using interlocking rafters as the roof support, building separate rings for each size I would need it to be. Then either, having the lattice expandable or having segments of lattice that could be attached via latches to increase the size. My curiosity and lack of resources wouldn't be so much the know how to build such adjustments however more dimensions for my lumber.

As for canvas I'm looking around it seems to be the most expensive piece of this whole endeavor. I'm curious if there are recommended people to reach out to for estimates, I am aware of the Beowulf Sewing partnership from browsing through here some. I've also contemplated dying my own white canvas to try and reduce costs some but sorta one of those extra insanities I'm wondering if I should go through as much fun as i think it would be.

Belos3602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2022, 02:41 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Yurt Designs