Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Search Forums
Advanced Search

Need Wire Around Wooden Yurt?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2018, 01:45 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 4
Default Need wire around wooden yurt?

We are finally completing our 30 ft wooden permanent yurt (no latticework). Is it necessary to use the wire around the top of the walls for additional strength?

Thank you,
Audrey

audreylen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 03:57 PM   #2
Administrator
 
Jafo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,007
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

No lattice? Do you have a picture to show us how this works?
Jafo is offline   Reply With Quote
Blue Ridge Yurts
Old 05-28-2018, 04:01 PM   #3
Industry Specialist
Yurts of Hawaii
 
HawaiiYurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Volcano, Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 211
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

It is essentially a panel yurt then. You don't necessarily need a cable in that application, but you would want heavy duty metal plates at the top of each panel join. An added cable couldn't hurt. 30' diameter is a lot of weight, what is the roofing?

Aloha,
HawaiiYurts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 05:45 PM   #4
Yurt Forum Youngin
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 24
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

Generally you would need something to hold the roof from pushing out the walls. In a cabin you would have collar ties that connect the top of the walls to the roof rafters which creates a triangle . The cable does the same thing. I guess if you had a steel flat bar on the wall top plate overlapping the wall sections , bolted through each section?
Ivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 09:06 AM   #5
Yurt Forum Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,339
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

If the rafters are in and there's no room on top of the wall to work effectively, strap the wall joints on the outside of the panels. You can purchase bendable 'strong tie' connector straps at Depot or Lowes. Nail the straps horizontally over the sheathing on the outside of the wall sections. Do this at the top of the wall, where the plates butt into eachother. Use galvanized connector nails, not 8s or 16s.
Bob Rowlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 05:27 PM   #6
Yurt Forum Youngin
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

Thank you guys so much. I will get you a picture. My husband says we will use hurricane straps. We are using a heavy vinyl for the roof.

Will keep you posted.

Audrey
audreylen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 08:30 PM   #7
Yurt Forum Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,339
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

CA building codes require house frames to be strapped to resist earthquakes. LOTS of strappingf. The straps work there and they will work for you as well. If I was considering building a 'wall panel' yurt I absolutely would use straps. Bolting the panels together through the studs is also good. Installing a cable would also be good. If the home is near done and rafters in place, strap it. Ain't no yurt load gonna defeat that strapping.
Bob Rowlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 06:53 PM   #8
Manufacturer Representative
Freedom Yurt Cabins
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 14
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

Audrey, your design sounds very similar to our Yurt Cabin kits. Probably different wall panel and rafter construction, but similar in that it is a solid wood design with a vinyl topcover. Our design does use an aircraft grade steel cable around the top of the walls to strengthen the circle and tie everything together, so to speak. The rafters tie into the interior tops and corners of the wall panels, pushing outward against this cable equally all around. Without the cable, the rafters would only be held by the strength of each individual wall mount. Additionally, our

Durolast

topcover connects into the steel cable. I can send you pictures if you're interested.

Cheers,
Connor
Sales & Marketing Manager
Freedom Yurt Cabins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:34 PM   #9
Yurt Forum Youngin
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need wire around wooden yurt?

Connor,

Thank you so much for answering. I feel we are on the right track. Please send pictures.

I wish we had known about you some years ago. Oh well that's life. Once this rain stops, I'll send some pictures.

Thanks again,
Audrey
audreylen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Yurt Forum | Buying a Yurt | Building a Yurt | Yurt Life | Yurts for Sale | Yurt Glamping | Yurts Pricing Yurt Calculators | Yurt Insurance | Yurt Insulation | Yurt Classifieds

Copyright 2012 - 2017 Jeff Capron Inc.

Yurt Posts Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with all the new yurt posts to your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]