Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Looking For Both A Materials List For Deck And Yurt Itself. Anyone Have One?

Old 03-29-2018, 10:50 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Looking for both a materials list for deck and yurt itself. anyone have one?

Hello my name is Richard. Recently moved to the White Mountains of NH. Came here specifically because there are no building codes prohibiting the building of whatever you want on your property (in my area, anyway). It has been my dream for a long time to build a yurt and I am starting to prepare to build one this year once the snow is gone. I have some experience with carpentry. I am trying to put together a materials list (I am good with tools) for both the deck and the yurt itself. Still thinking about the fabric for the yurt. I have attended a class in VT and built a yurt, a small one, with a group of other people. But it was pretty lame with a teacher who built one to live in his parent's backyard to save some cash and the yurt fabric was made from tarps from Home Depot and we had to put the tarp pieces together with a glue so toxic you could not breathe it even momentarily, which was quite startling a contrast to what the yurt represents for me, personally.

Plan is for approximately 1,000 sq feet for the yurt interior floor space and 1,400 sq ft deck. Railing all the way around. One staircase. Standard stuff.

How many sq feet of fabric will it require? Including (and I am hoping to benefit from your experience) waste?

What materials are viable for the covering of the yurt? My idea is sail materials and there are some quite advanced ones available, though pricey I imagine. Where do you get the kind of covering for the yurt offered by a company like

Pacific yurts

? Are there really options or is some kind of impregnated canvas the only viable thing?

Lumber, fabric,

insulation