Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Plans
Advanced Search

Yurt Complex

Old 06-02-2014, 06:05 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Exclamation Yurt complex

Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new to yurts but am planning a fairly large yurt complex consisting of 7 yurts joined together in various places. My main question is how I can get plumbing and electricity at up as well as is a 3360+ Square foot base for the yurt complex to sit on possible to achieve?
I know it's a mad ambition but please no unreasonable comments
Thanks to anyone who can help!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140602_120556.jpg
Views:	721
Size:	2.34 MB
ID:	617  
chloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 08:59 AM   #2
Administrator

Default Re: Yurt complex

I am not 100% sure what your question is, but from the looks of your drawing, you would just run your plumbing underneath the yurts?
Jafo is offline   Reply With Quote
Blue Ridge Yurts
Old 06-02-2014, 04:06 PM   #3
Yurt Forum Youngin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jafo View Post
I am not 100% sure what your question is, but from the looks of your drawing, you would just run your plumbing underneath the yurts?
Hi Jafo,
I was just wondering if it was possible to build a platform large enough and strong enough to support this large yurt collection or if it was impossible.
Thanks for your help!
Old 06-03-2014, 12:18 PM   #4
Yurt Forum Addict

Hey Cloe - It's always possible!
Entire houses can be built sitting on wood platforms, to a degree. All you have to consider is the load and the supports. It sounds like you are thinking about one contiguous platform for the whole setup. Is that right?
I have a couple of ideas - 1) the easier (in terms of not needing to engineer something yourself) build individual platforms for each based on plans made by an established yurt company, and then tie those platforms together. You could do multi-level stuff hat way.