Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Buying A Yurt
Advanced Search

Just Wondering

Old 01-31-2014, 07:03 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Just wondering

Hi y'all, I'm new to the yurt scene and am in the process of trying to decide between the traditional Mongolian style yurt versus the more modernized American style. I've read somewhere on here how the traditional yurts are more susceptible to weathering, mold and mildew, but couldn't something be done to lessen all that? Just wondering because when I do get a yurt, I really want a traditional one. And by the way, I live in the Piedmont region of North Carolina as far as weather goes, so it's pretty mild here for the most part. Thanks for any input.

nc_hillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 09:33 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Just wondering

Welcome to the site nc. Go for the trad yurt. Nomadic Mongolian herders have lived in simple trad yurts for possibly thousands of years, and still do today. They have the design perfected. The 16' yurt I built from scratch is similar to theirs. I like it very much. You can upgrade later after you really learn what you want. Jump in, get your feet wet. Have fun learning.
Bob Rowlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Pacific Yurts - The original modern yurt
Old 01-31-2014, 11:32 PM   #3
Administrator

If the climate is really humid, keep that under consideration that you may have to take steps to mitigate it. Otherwise, build what your heart wants man.
Bob Rowlands likes this.
Jafo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 01:36 PM   #4
Yurt Forum Youngin

Thanks y'all!
Old 02-03-2014, 09:57 AM   #5
Yurt Forum Youngin

Hi - If you are in the piedmont of NC, you are sort of near

Blue Ridge Yurts