Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Plans
Advanced Search

Steep Roof, Large Ring?

Old 01-31-2013, 09:06 PM   #11
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default 24' Yurt Measurements?

Thanks, everyone, for the encouragement. I did restore a damaged 16' yurt a few years ago, so I'm not a complete newbie to this. I've just never designed and built one myself.

On the topic of standards, though, I now want to design mine to use an off-the-shelf acrylic

dome

and roof cover from

Pacific Yurts

. Can anyone point me to documentation of the sizes I should shoot for to make this possible? Should I just buy those parts first and design the whole thing around direct measurements?

Specifically, I would like these measurements from a 24' Pacific Yurt:
-

Dome

diameter. Folks have said 48". Is this the true diameter of the bottom of that dome? I'll size the roof ring to this.
- Roof pitch in degrees. (Top of the rafter at the outer wall and the ring are good enough. I can calculate the pitch from that if I need to.)
- Roof pole size. What's the cross-section shape and size? 2x2? 2x4? What length?

I'm close enough to them that I might just take a trip up there. I have to wonder, though, if they would be pleased to have a "tire kicker" show up and take measurements in order to duplicate their design. Even if I'm going to buy a bunch of parts from them, it seems like they might get a little miffed that I can't afford to just buy a whole yurt.

Thanks again for any help y'all can give.
BlossomMerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:52 PM   #12
Yurt Forum Youngin

Oh, hey!

I finally found the page of PDF documents on the Pacific Yurt website. Pacific Yurts-Downloads

It gives me most of the measurements that I need, I think. But then there's a statement in one of the files... "NOTE:

Pacific Yurts