Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Powering the Yurt
Advanced Search

Mini Splits?

Old 08-04-2016, 09:51 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Mini splits?

We live in New England and are investigating building a yurt for my full time work space. I'm a filmmaker working with sensitive electronic equipment, so need to have climate control.

We're exploring

heating

and cooling with a Fujitsu mini split. Has anyone had experience with this? If we go with the standard

insulation

offered by Colorado Yurt Co for walls and roof, will the minisplit be adequate in winters that can get into the teens or below? And could the minisplit handle cooling/dehumidification in the summer?

We'd like to build a 27 or 30' yurt.

Colorado Yurt didn't know of anyone heating/cooling this way, but thought it would be doable, especially if we added additional

insulation

Thanks for sharing any experience, info, or leads you may have!

Sarah

Sbliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 11:39 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Mini splits?

I'll assume the equipment is very expensive. I wouldn't put expensive sensitive electronics in my yurt. It is a tent. JMO
Wintergreen282 likes this.
Bob Rowlands is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 10:31 AM   #3
Yurt Forum Youngin

Thanks Bob,

I realize I may be trying to fit a square peg into a round hole, but am aware that some folks have built yurts which look like they're pretty far from tents!

Anyone else have any experience with this?
Sbliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 12:32 PM   #4
Yurt Forum Addict

There's a few posts about it. It might work to directly message the one or two people that have tried it.

On climate control for electronics, it might be easier to cool/heat just the electronics--build a small enclosure for them and climate control just that little bit, at least if you need precise temps.