Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Yurt In U.P. Michigan

Old 04-03-2017, 09:55 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Yurt in U.P. Michigan

Hello all,
We are looking at putting a yurt in Houghton county Michigan and were wondering if anyone has some input? We can't get anything out of the local building department other than "if it meets Michigan building regulations...." which of course don't mention yurts and is hard to decipher. I know there are vacation yurts being rented out in the Keweenaw but we are looking to live year round in a yurt. Any information or experience anyone has would be greatly appreciated! (We are looking to do this in the next five weeks)

I am completely new to the concept of forums so please excuse any mistakes I make in posting

2 dogs and a Yurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 03:22 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Member

Default Re: Yurt in U.P. Michigan

Yurts can be equipped to meet Michigan building regulations. There are Yurts throughout 'lower' Michigan that have been permitted by the State. They are being used for a variety of purposes including permanent residences. I suspect there may be increased snow load requirements for UP Michigan. I know there are Yurts as far North as Traverse City.

Keep in mind you are going to have to put together some type of documentation not only for the Yurt but also for the improvements (utilities, driveway, access points, etc.) for the property.

It really isn't as daunting as it might seem. But you have to tell the state what you are planning to do in writing. Plus some type of documentation from your Yurt manufacturer (typically by a Professional Engineer) that a Yurt equipped in a certain way, proper installed, will meet the certain snow and wind loading.

Hope this helps! Good Luck.

jerry
jeritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 11:14 AM   #3
Yurt Forum Youngin

Colorado Yurts