Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Repair
Advanced Search

Transparent Cap Covers

Old 08-21-2022, 09:14 AM   #1
Meg
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Transparent cap covers

Hi! This is my first post! So thanks in advance I’d anyone can help me.

I have an adapted Mongolian yurt in use full time in rainy Cumbria UK.

We often have to put our crown cap (the extra canvas that covers our Perspex sky light incase I’m using the wrong terminology!) in spring and late summer. This blocks a lot of light and I wondered if anyone new if you could buy a transparent additional crown cover. Ours is currently heavy canvas same as our overall outer walls.

Whenever I’ve looked they seem to be £400??? Which makes me think I’m typing in the wrong thing!

Many thanks

Meg

Meg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2022, 12:09 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Transparent cap covers

I'm no expert on yurt covers, but here is a suggestion. If you want a lot of light and full on rain protection that is very affordable and easy to make yourself, you might consider using greenhouse plastic.

I built us a small 10x15 greenhouse this year. The greenhouse plastic I bought is a 4 year rated material -note: not big box store variety- and is VERY tough and UV resistant, unlike the box store stuff which won't last a year. I know that from having covered tomatos with the stuff and it is JUNK plastic. I bought it from a greenhouse supply store. Pick one, the plastic is probably the same everywhere, as long as it is called 'greenhouse plastic'. It comes in any size.