Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Living
Advanced Search

Keeping Uninsulated Yurt Cool During South Florida Summer

Old 05-26-2022, 05:30 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Keeping uninsulated yurt cool during South Florida summer

Hello,

My name’s Damion, I just moved into a yurt in South Florida on a 10 acre farm in an area called Loxahatchee Groves.

Summer is approaching and the heat and humidity is blistering. The yurt is uninsulated but luckily partially shaded by surrounding trees.

I have a small A/C unit, a dehumidifier, shades on the window, and I am working to block the

dome

I do not own the yurt, I am a full time college student living here (for one year) until I transfer to the University of Florida.

What can I do, besides fully insulate the place and what I have aforementioned to create a more comfortable living environment?

damionryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 06:41 PM   #2
Manufacturer Representative
Pacific Yurts

Default Re: Keeping uninsulated yurt cool during South Florida summer

You can find some tips on cooling on our website here: https://www.yurts.com/customer-suppo...in-the-summer/.
Bob Rowlands and TSRalex like this.
Pacific Yurts is offline   Reply With Quote
Pacific Yurts - The original modern yurt
Old 05-28-2022, 10:03 AM   #3
Yurt Forum Addict

Thanks Pacific! Very good tips.

I hiked up the wall cover a foot all around the base of the wall. That created a natural cooling draft up through the roof vent. However bugs aren't an issue here.

Sun hitting the cover absorbs the heat. Yurts have no 'attic' and the associated roof venting system like a conventional house. So, keeping direct sun off the yurt is absolutely essential to keeping it cool, imo.

If you were lucky you might be able to simply run a rope ridgeline(s) over the yurt from a couple close trees and drape a huge white poly tarp over that.