Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Buying A Yurt
Advanced Search

Yurt Newbie - Looking For Semi-permanent Living In A Camping Yurt?

Old 08-23-2013, 02:37 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Location: Somewhere very hot, hopefully somewhere less so soon.
Talking Yurt Newbie - Looking for semi-permanent living in a camping yurt?

Hello All!

I'm new to forum life in general (in fact, this is my first account on a forum) so please forgive me if this is a rather long and rambling question.

I'm rather new to yurts, but I've been heavily researching them for the past month or so. My beau and I are very interested in moving into one for nomadic living. I was hoping someone out here has had similar goals to ours (which I'll detail in a moment), or has had any experience with what we are trying to do.

Our primary goal is a portable living structure that is stable. I'm aware of the history of traditional Gers or Yurts, but the deeper I delve into the "manufactured" or "big company" yurts, they seem to have wide additions of bells and whistles (such as large glass windows) that would make them much more difficult to move and transport than we'd like.

We would need a yurt that not only -can be- set up by two people, but is essentially intended for that purpose without losing too many hours. Additionally it needs to be truly travel ready. The two main locations that it would be transported from are Maryland and an area of North Carolina off of the Albemarle sound. However, we want the ability to really travel with it for a true nomadic lifestyle.

We don't have any plans for wiring or pluming it, it would be truly off the grid with simple additions like an outdoor camp shower (think a plastic bag and nozzle), a humanure composting toilet, and a small woodstove inside. I'd like to think that if the frame itself is stable enough, we could make additions to it over time as needed if we decide to *ahem* "settle down".