Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Buying A Yurt
Advanced Search

Deck Question

Old 03-21-2020, 09:01 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Deck Question

Hello! This is my first time posting but I've had a yurt fantasy since high school which may be coming to fruition soon. My husband and I are considering buying an existing Colorado yurt on a couple of acres. My question is - has anyone ever had to rebuild the deck their yurt is sitting on without removing the yurt? It looks like something we would need to do if we decide to get it. Here is the property so you can see what I mean: https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/5...82085004_zpid/

Any input would be appreciated!

Myrna

myrnab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 03:04 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: Deck Question

Well I will assume the decking under the yurt is in good shape and structurally sound. If not take the yurt down. That would be preferred but if you gotta stay in the yurt there's another way. Remove all decking as below.

If yurt stays up, hike up the cover from the deck and secure it so you don't cut it. Run a sawzall reciprocating saw around the perimeter of the yurt, cutting loose all the decking. Do 'NOT' cut the framing!

Getting the boards off the floor framing. If nailed, pry the boards up with a large prybar. A 3 footer is ideal. Grind a sharp edge on the business end and slam that sucker under each nail between the bottom of the decking and the top of the joist. They will come right up REAL easy with that kind of leverage.