Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Yurt Repair
Advanced Search

Use Rivet To Joint The Lattice Wall Together

Old 05-14-2018, 05:06 AM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Question use rivet to joint the lattice wall together

Hi guys,
As you may find from my ID, I am a green hand carpenter, and I’ve planned to build myself a yurt.
While in the very first step, I got stucked. I’ve tried to jointed two piece of wood with rivet, just like pacific and other people do. But the rivets always too tight, or even sink into wood.
The rived I am using is core rivet, and I put washer at one end of the rivet. The rivet gun I am using is a hand pushing tool, not electronic or gas powered gun.
Any suggestions about how can I solve this problem will be highly appreciated.
Did I use the wrong type of rivet? Or the guns has to be gas powered? I am sure the wood I am using is hard. Please any suggestions?
Thanks in advance

greenhandcarpenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 10:16 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Addict

Default Re: use rivet to joint the lattice wall together

Forget rivets. Use cordage like the Mongolians. Or, do as I did and use 1/4-20 carriage bolts. Don't use washers on the bolts. You need a loose fit with bolts to get the lath to open and close easily. Washers rattle when the wind blows. Cordage assures there will be no bind, and no rattling. Good luck.
Bob Rowlands is offline   Reply With Quote
Pacific Yurts - The original modern yurt
Old 05-14-2018, 10:18 PM   #3
Yurt Forum Addict

BTW if you opt for cordage, use braided core, not cheapjack home depot lowes or Walmart cheap cord. The stuff is worthless junk. Trust me on this.
Old 05-14-2018, 11:42 PM   #4
Yurt Forum Member