Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Simplicity
Advanced Search

What Are You Planting In Your Garden This Year?

Old 03-20-2013, 09:18 AM   #1
Administrator

Default What are you planting in your garden this year?

Every year it seems that I adjust what it is I grow in the garden and also their amounts. This year I am making some more changes:

No peas or beans

I love these two plants, but nobody here besides me eats them. Half the time I find the beans getting too big and starchy, and the same with the peas. It's a shame because they are easy to grow, but I see no need in wasting them again this year.

More mustard

Mustard has been my favorite green for the last few years. I have been growing it for 3 years now and never have enough, so this year I am going to grow three stages of it. Each stage will be planted 2 weeks apart so I can stagger the harvest. Once each harvest is done, I should be able to make a second planting. I love mustard when it gets hit with the first frost. Delicious!

More squash

We eat squash all the time when it is in season. We also give it away to friends and family. I plan on growing much more this year than previous years. In fact, it could take up to 1/4 of my garden.

Tomatoes

I always grow tomatoes. We can these up every season and then enjoy them throughout the year. I am extending the size of my garden this year and will be planting these in the new area. It gets more sun there, and tomatoes can really grow in just about any soil condition. Heck, you can grow tomatoes in newspaper if you want.

Garlic

Last years crop worked out so great for my first time, that I couldn't wait to plant more last fall. Really looking forward to this early crop!

Peppers

Jalapeno and habaneros are constants in my garden. This year however I will not be growing any bell peppers. I just have no luck with them at all.

Herbs