Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Everything Else
Advanced Search

Yurt Help?

Old 05-17-2016, 05:07 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Yurt help?

While I have been reading here for awhile, this is my first post on the site-and I am very thankful for all of the good information posted by all of the members.

I am a disabled veteran just about at the end of the line as far as diagnosis and treatment goes, and it looks like I'm not really going to be able to get back into having a productive career of any kind-so I am strongly considering using my savings and any means of help I can get to find a decent strip of land in an area with a moderate climate (cool year round, not too cold in the winters) such as Oregon, Southern Washington, N.E. CA, etc., and putting up a yurt as a permanent home. I've been renting apartments all of my life, and can not afford to do so anymore on limited veterans benefits-not to mention needing to be away from all the people and their drama so that I can try to relax.

As part of my location limitations, I'll need to be fairly close to VA facilities to receive my regular dose of apathy, which means I will likely need to be erecting a yurt to local code (I doubt that I can manage all the extra chores associated with off-grid living, so I will need running water, sewer (or septic), and electric, with propane/woodstove for cooking and

heating

if feasible). Although I understand that this requirement might make finding a place where a yurt is acceptable very difficult. I'd love to be able to do without, but while I can still walk and move, I'm slow-and won't likely be getting any better.