Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Our Savannah Yurts

Old 03-24-2014, 09:47 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Member

Default Our Savannah Yurts

I figured after posting a few questions I should start a small thread to document the progress of our Yurt journey.

By trade I am a UH-60L Blackhawk pilot but I rarely fly. I enjoyed my time flying the dry open space of Afghanistan but flying in the states is a rather bore. I guess that is where the "Office" comes in for Officer. I am a husband, father to one and soon to be two. Currently stationed at Hunter Army Airfield in Savannah GA.

With a recent raise in Basic Housing Allowance and the substandard quality of housing on post I was finally able to talk to the wife into making the move into a Yurt of which I have been dreaming about for years. The constant spraying of pesticides and the incessant sound of helicopters fling directly over our house at all hours of the day/night is wearing. We plan to depart the Military soon as part of our long term plan and are trying to make wise financial decisions and set our selves up to have freedom to make different choices about our career/schooling. The yurt is a major part of that plan.

We had originally planed to purchase one tall wall 30' yurt and create a loft but we found the following yurts for sale out in Colorado and decided to make a change in plans. I am flying out from GA and my father from OR and we will tear it down with the help of a local contractor in approx 3 days, throw it all in a 26' Penske and put it up here in GA after a long 3 days on the road.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Space View.jpg
Views:	747
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	568