Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts  

Go Back   Yurt Forum - A Yurt Community About Yurts > Building a Yurt
Advanced Search

Interior Partition Wall And Loft Framing Suggestions?

Old 03-19-2018, 04:27 PM   #1
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Interior partition wall and loft framing suggestions?

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum. My partner and I and our 1-year-old kid live in a 30-foot Pacific Yurt that we put up in a real big rush on our due date last year. We currently have it set up as just one big space, which we love, but are planning to build out a few rooms with a loft above in about a third of the yurt in a few months. I've been doing some online research on how people have framed this sort of thing and haven't come up with a lot. PY says not to attach anything to the rafters, but I did find a video from Shelter Yurts where they put blocking between the bottom part of the rafters to attach loft joists too... seems pretty safe to me.

I'm a carpenter, so feel pretty confident just making something up that fits my floor plan, but am curious what other folks have done. No need to reinvent the wheel if there's already a nice one I can copy!

I searched the forums here a bit but didn't find anything. If anyone has any advice, or a link to a relevant post here or elsewhere, I'd appreciate it.

thanks!
Scott

Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 05:51 PM   #2
Yurt Forum Youngin

Default Re: Interior partition wall and loft framing suggestions?

My two cents are that lofts are hot in the summer and hot with the stove on in the winter. It would be good to hear from people happy with their upstairs space, in addition to just being pleased with their construction project. Otherwise, good for storage.
albalmuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Groovy Yurts
Old 03-26-2018, 08:12 PM   #3
Yurt Forum Addict